“The sea is only the embodiment of a supernatural and wonderful existence. It is nothing but love and emotion; it is the Living Infinite. ”
― Jules Verne, Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea

I was a swimmer when I was young.
And one of my favorite things to do was dive down to the bottom of the pool,
and look at the surface of the water.
Knowing, that as my fellow swimmers chopped their way through, it turned to white bubbly waves that bounced back and forth across the pool.
But from below it all looked like various shades of calm blue.
Underneath the surface you can’t see the chaos that is visible from above.

It was very counter-intuitive to what I’d learn in later life,
that most adults are hiding their chaos deep within.

I was never afraid of the water until I went to the ocean.
Standing on a boat, waiting to jump into untold depths, and mentally picturing
all the ancient creatures swimming just below my toes….
I was enthralled as much as I was terrified.
Once I was in the water, I again, dove down as deep as pressure allowed.
Then I let go.
I let the gentle pulse of the water move me ever so slightly, back and forth
then spin me slowly around the blue darkness.

That was exceedingly important to what I’d learn later in life,
that when fear of the unknown grips you, you let go of control.

Surface

